Seminary Program Goals

JCSTS' curriculum strives to deliver 16 core competencies to its learners. Each of the seminary's programs focuses on three to five of these competencies.

  • Develop theological literacy

  • Practice theological reflection

  • Communicate the gospel effectively to a variety of people in a variety of settings

  • Embody theology through ethical action

  • Interpret and lead change

  • Manage conflict

  • Lead worship experiences that connect people with the Divine and the world

  • Articulate shared vision

  • Act entrepreneurially

  • Develop proficiency in technology and 21st forms of communication

  • Steward financial, personal, and spiritual resources effectively

  • Listen to and interpret culture of church and community

  • Collaborate with individuals and organizations to build capacity for long term systemic change

  • Equip staff and members to live justly

  • Work to establish just ecologies of community

  • Organize for community transformation

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

JCSTS is a 501c3 non-profit organization. 
All financial contributions made to JCSTS are tax-deductible.

© 2021-2022 by Johnson C. Smith
Theological Seminary.
All rights reserved.

Web design by Twenty and 3 Agency